Youth Partnership Results In League Promotion

FC Wichita and Wichita United FC have come to a decision that will see league promotion for the 2011 Girls, Wichita United Select. The team is coached by two Tabor College soccer alumni, Dylan Pohlman and Craig Penner.  The team will play under the FC Wichita ECNL banner and compete in the ECNL Regional League Heartland Conference. Team roster for 2023-2024 is being built now. 

Pohlman, who's been coaching for 16 years also served as head coach for the Tabor College women's soccer program for 2 years, becoming the NAIA Coach of the Year. Now, this experienced pair will join forces with Wichita soccer legend and 2023 Wichita Sports Hall of Fame inductee, LeBaron Hollimon. 

Hollimon, the current ECNL Director for FC Wichita, is best known for his days as a Wichita Wings player and eventually the head coach. His professional indoor soccer resume goes along nicely with accolades that includes NCAA DI, NCAA DII, NAIA, and NJCAA employment. Hollimon will assume the role of head coach with the assistance of Penner and Pohlman, to create one of the most experienced team staff in the Wichita metro area.  

"The players are certainly going to benefit from this merger," said Hollimon. "We have so many options now to make sure we place each player within this age grouping into a position that fits their growth needs. Local collaboration is always the best thing for our soccer community as a whole."

Wichita United Director Jorge De La Torre agrees with Hollimon.

We are extremely proud to help provide this advancement opportunity to both our members and coaching staff", said United Director Jorge De La Torre. "One of the most important values include a pathway for all Wichita players in the name of Wichita itself.  Each year we take a step back and evaluate our teams with an open mind and our best intentions. That sometimes means the time is right to advance them as a group, and sometimes it's just an individual player."


Players can register for Identification as of May 1st, 2023. CLICK HERE